By Cris Canto | Chemist (MSc) | The Label Truth
QUICK ANSWER: Worth it? Depends on how much you value full disclosure.
This iGenics review breaks down exactly what’s disclosed on the label — and what isn’t. iGenics is built around the AREDS2 framework — the nutrient combination behind the most-cited clinical trial in age-related eye health. Its Lutein dose (20mg) is double what that trial used, which is a genuinely strong signal. The problem: iGenics names 12 ingredients but only discloses exact doses for about half of them. Zeaxanthin, Zinc, Copper, Saffron, and Ginkgo Biloba appear on the label without a public mg figure I could verify. That’s a real transparency gap, not a dealbreaker — the ingredients that are dosed are dosed well.
What Is iGenics and Who Makes It
iGenics is a vision-support supplement manufactured by Science Genics, sold as a 2-capsule daily serving (60 capsules per bottle, 30-day supply). It’s positioned around the AREDS2 (Age-Related Eye Disease Study 2) nutrient framework, plus additional botanicals — bilberry, ginkgo biloba, saffron, turmeric. Made in the USA in a facility the company states is GMP-certified, vegan, non-GMO, with no fillers. Sold exclusively through the official site, with a money-back guarantee (stated as 365 days on the manufacturer’s own storefront; (some third-party review pages cite 180 days — confirm the current term on the official checkout page before buying). This iGenics review evaluates the formula independently of the manufacturer’s own marketing claims.
Label Truth Scorecard
| Criterion | Result | Notes |
| Delivery format | PASS | Oral capsule — appropriate for systemic nutrient delivery to the eye |
| Core AREDS2 ingredients present | PASS | Lutein, Vitamin C, Vitamin A present with disclosed doses; Zeaxanthin, Vitamin E, Zinc, Copper present but dose not publicly disclosed |
| Lead ingredient dose | PASS | Lutein 20mg is double the AREDS2 trial dose (10mg) |
| Full label transparency | PARTIAL | About half the ingredients (Zeaxanthin, Zinc, Copper, Saffron, Ginkgo Biloba) have no disclosed mg amount in any source checked, including the manufacturer’s own site |
| Dangerous claims | PASS | No disease-cure claims; manufacturer explicitly disclaims FDA evaluation and treatment claims |
| Manufacturing | PASS | GMP-certified, FDA-registered US facility per manufacturer |
Ingredient-by-Ingredient: What’s Actually Disclosed
This is the most important table in this review, because it separates what iGenics proves from what it merely lists.
| Ingredient | Dose in iGenics | Reference Dose (Research) | Verdict |
| Lutein | 20mg | 10mg/day — AREDS2 trial dose (Age-Related Eye Disease Study 2 Research Group, JAMA 2013, PMID 23644932) | PASS — 2x the trial dose |
| Vitamin C | 500mg | 500mg — matches AREDS2 formula exactly | PASS — matches trial |
| Vitamin A | 900mcg (100% DV) | Standard adult RDA; AREDS2 core formula uses beta-carotene or, in the AREDS2-recommended substitution, additional lutein/zeaxanthin instead of vitamin A/beta-carotene for smokers | PASS — standard adult dose disclosed |
| Turmeric | 350mg | Used mainly as an anti-caking/flow agent per the manufacturer’s own description, not dosed for a specific eye-health clinical endpoint | DISCLOSED, BUT NOT THE PRIMARY ACTIVE — framed by the brand itself as a filler alternative, not a clinical ingredient |
| Bilberry Extract | 480mg | Traditional use for night vision; modern RCT evidence is mixed — several controlled trials have not confirmed a measurable visual acuity benefit | DOSED, BUT EVIDENCE IS WEAK — a generous amount of a botanical with inconsistent trial support |
| Zeaxanthin | Not disclosed | 2mg/day — AREDS2 trial dose | CANNOT VERIFY — named on label, no mg found in any source checked |
| Vitamin E | Not disclosed | AREDS2 trial used 400 IU | CANNOT VERIFY |
| Zinc | Not disclosed | AREDS2 trial used 80mg (or 25mg low-dose arm) zinc oxide | CANNOT VERIFY |
| Copper | Not disclosed | AREDS2 trial used 2mg (paired with zinc to prevent copper deficiency) | CANNOT VERIFY |
| Saffron | Not disclosed | 20-30mg/day in RCTs on macular function in early AMD | CANNOT VERIFY — real evidence base exists, but no dose to compare it against |
| Ginkgo Biloba | Not disclosed | 80-240mg/day in studies on ocular blood flow | CANNOT VERIFY |
What iGenics Does Well
The formula behind this iGenics review is built on a real foundation: AREDS2 is the most rigorously tested nutrient combination in age-related eye health, run by the National Eye Institute, and it demonstrated a reduced risk of progression to advanced macular degeneration in a defined population (people with intermediate AMD or advanced AMD in one eye). iGenics’s Lutein dose (20mg) exceeds the AREDS2 trial dose, and its Vitamin C dose (500mg) matches it exactly — that’s a meaningfully different standard than a product that just name-drops “AREDS2 inspired” without matching any of the actual trial doses.
What iGenics Does Not Deliver
Roughly half the label is undisclosed. Zeaxanthin — the AREDS2 partner nutrient to lutein, and arguably as important as lutein itself for macular protection — has no published dose I could find, including on the manufacturer’s own product page. Same for Zinc and Copper, the two minerals responsible for the AREDS2 formula’s second major benefit pathway. Saffron and Ginkgo Biloba both have legitimate supporting research at specific doses (20-30mg and 80-240mg respectively), but without a number on the iGenics label, there’s no way to know if you’re getting a research-relevant amount or a token inclusion for the ingredient list. That’s the central transparency gap this iGenics review has to flag clearly.
This is a materially different problem than a full proprietary blend — iGenics discloses dosage for its two most prominent ingredients (Lutein, Vitamin C) plus Vitamin A, Turmeric, and Bilberry. But for a product marketed specifically as “AREDS2 formula,” leaving out the Zeaxanthin, Zinc, and Copper amounts is a meaningful transparency gap on exactly the ingredients that matter most for that specific claim.
iGenics Review Verdict: Who It Makes Sense For
Makes sense if: you want a Lutein-forward formula at a dose that meets or exceeds the AREDS2 standard, and you’re comfortable that several supporting ingredients (Zeaxanthin, Zinc, Copper, Saffron, Ginkgo) are present but not independently verifiable by dose.
Doesn’t make sense if: you specifically want a verified, complete AREDS2-dose replica (for that, you’d need a product that discloses all 6 core AREDS2 nutrients individually — Lutein, Zeaxanthin, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, Zinc, and Copper), or if you have a diagnosed eye condition — in that case, this belongs alongside your ophthalmologist’s guidance, not instead of it. That’s the line this iGenics review draws between a reasonable buy and a mismatch for your needs.
Related reading: for the full framework I use to evaluate any supplement label — what counts as a real dose versus a marketing number — see my guide to reading supplement facts panels.
Where to Check Current Pricing
Check iGenics’ current formula and pricing here →
Lembrete: repetir o disclaimer de afiliado abaixo do botão de compra também.
Is iGenics legit?
Based on this iGenics review, yes — the company is identifiable (Science Genics), publishes contact information, and discloses doses for several key ingredients, including its lead ingredient, Lutein, at twice the AREDS2 trial dose. It is not a proprietary-blend product hiding all its doses — but it also doesn’t disclose every ingredient’s amount, which is worth knowing before you buy.
What are the ingredients in iGenics?
This iGenics review counted 12 ingredients built around the AREDS2 framework: Lutein (20mg, disclosed), Zeaxanthin, Vitamin A (900mcg, disclosed), Vitamin C (500mg, disclosed), Vitamin E, Zinc, Copper, plus Bilberry Extract (480mg, disclosed), Ginkgo Biloba, Saffron, and Turmeric (350mg, disclosed, used partly as a natural flow agent).
Does iGenics really work for vision?
Based on this iGenics review, the AREDS2 nutrient combination has real clinical trial support for slowing progression of intermediate-to-advanced age-related macular degeneration in the population studied — it is not shown to improve vision in people without AMD, and it does not reverse existing vision loss. iGenics’s Lutein dose matches or exceeds that trial; several of its other AREDS2 components don’t have a public dose to compare.
Is iGenics safe?
The individual ingredients are generally recognized as safe at typical supplement doses. As with any supplement affecting eye health, anyone with a diagnosed eye condition should discuss it with their ophthalmologist rather than self-treating with a supplement alone.
References
1. Age-Related Eye Disease Study 2 (AREDS2) Research Group. Lutein + zeaxanthin and omega-3 fatty acids for age-related macular degeneration. JAMA. 2013. PMID 23644932
2. Falsini B et al. Effect of saffron supplementation on retinal flicker sensitivity in early age-related macular degeneration. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci.
Analysis by Cris Canto, MSc Chemistry | 25 years in R&D and marketing in multinational consumer goods industry. | All analyses are independent and based on publicly available label data and verified reviews.